Skip to Content
Mitchell & West, LLC Mitchell & West, LLC
Call Today For Personalized Legal Solutions 305-783-3301

Protecting Your Rights Through a Personalized Approach

Learn More About Mitchell & West

In Florida, only associating drunk driving with driving under the influence (DUI) is a misrepresentation of the facts. You can also be high from drug abuse or chemical alteration while driving, which is still a DUI. Being found guilty of a DUI means the individual was driving or in control of a vehicle in the state of Florida while under the influence of alcohol, chemicals, or a controlled substance to the level that normal abilities were impaired, or the blood alcohol level of the person was higher than 0.08%. So, you don’t have to be drinking to be charged or found guilty of DUI.

Consequences of Multiple DUI Convictions

The state of Florida takes multiple DUI convictions seriously. With each offense, the penalties and fines increase. If you have a past DUI conviction, you will most likely face dogged prosecution by the state as they strongly seek to deter repeat offenses. The consequences are even more severe if your DUI charge included an auto collision. When driving under the influence ends in a collision, the state can increase the penalties and fines, even adding jail time.

  • A second DUI in Florida with a blood alcohol (BAC) level of 0.15% or less could result in 9 months of jail time and fines between $1,000 and $2,000. You could also lose your driving privileges for as many as five years, depending on how long it’s been since your last DUI.
  • A third DUI in Florida with a BAC level of 0.15% or less means heftier fines between $2,000 and $5,000. Additionally, you could be sentenced to as many as five years of incarceration. If your last DUI was less than ten years prior, you could end up with a felony conviction. If you receive three DUIs in Florida within ten years, you face a ten-year suspension of your driving privileges.
  • A fourth DUI is a serious offense in Florida. It’s an automatic felony. If you do not already have a felony, you will have one from this point. A fourth conviction also carries up to five years in state prison.

Additional Points to Remember

Whether you’re dealing with your first DUI or your third charge, if any DUI resulted in death or serious harm to another person, it is considered a felony offense. Receiving four DUIs in Florida also means you could lose your driver’s license permanently. If you are stopped because you’ve been suspected of driving under the influence, you have some choices to make. While you may still be convicted of a DUI, the state of Florida cannot force you to engage in field sobriety tests or blow into a breathalyzer. Refusal to submit to either test will carry serious consequences. Multiple DUI convictions mean increasingly severe and life-altering consequences, which is why you need to consult the assistance of a Florida DUI attorney. Our team can sit down with you to develop a strategy for your case.

Call the attorneys at Mitchell & West LLC today at (305) 783-3301 to schedule a consultation, or you can use our online contact form to request more information.